Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Comparing the subjective experience of meditation

Hi, I am interested in comparing the subjective experience meditation across different traditions. For example I've been practicing Zen meditation (Zazen) for 25 years and I'm curious about how other traditions experience their time on the cushion. Here are three basic questions that might start an interesting conversation.

1. Does it feel different when you sit alone versus sitting with other people? If so, are the effects local or non-local? (Does distance or intent make a difference?)
  2. Do you experience extreme pain while sitting with others only to have that pain disappear or reduce significantly when a sitting period has finished? (Particularly interested in a theravadan take on this)
  3. How do other traditions understand the function/different benefits/merit of group versus solitary meditation?

Comments

1. I always sit alone even when with other people. B)
    2. Pain? Que? The last time I experienced pain was during a theravadan sit. I insisted on sitting in full lotus, after half an hour I moved to half lotus and felt a complete failure. That was a long time ago.
    3. That is interesting. I feel you are asking about Buddhist traditions but I have practiced Christian, Islamic, yogic, occult and moving meditation traditions.
    • In the dervish tradition a straight back is not required. I remember sitting on bean cushions and zen type stools in group sessions.
    • Christians, Gnostics and occultists tend to sit on chairs. Occultists tend to be concentration orientated. Gnostics tend to be more contemplative.