Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism & emotions

edited March 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Okay,
I'm a little confused about something. Somewhere I got the impression that Buddhism means surpressing or denying emotions. Some sources or Buddhists seem to pick up that idea and other sources say Buddhism doesn't mean avoiding emotions. So I'm so what confused.

This questions is important to me because I'm an expert in not feeling. Because of that you'd say I should feel. But if Buddhism means not feeling it might not be the path for me.

Of course I feel emotions-- however I'm not aware of them and act out without often knowing why.

:) I'm curious what your replies will be.

Comments

• SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited February 2009
    First of all, Butterfly, you will find, as you extend your study, that Buddhist writers contradict each other just as much as any other group of philosopher/theologians. Interpretation of the recorded saying of the Buddha or the writings of the thousands of subsequent expositors varies enormously. I am sure that Elohim/Jason will provide you with very useful links and quotations from Theravada scriptures.

As you are looking at Thich Nhat Hanh (TNH), who is from the Vietnamese, Mahayana/Zen tradition transformed by Western social engagement, he has a lot to say about emotion/feelings. He sees the function of meditation to calm and, ultimately, to stop so that we can look deeply. The two aspects of meditation are shamatha ("stopping") and vipashyana ("looking deeply"), he says in The Heart Of The Buddha's Teaching, and we cannot look deeply until we are still.