Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How would you approach this? Course content and lgbt narrative

SattvaPaulSattvaPaul South Wales, UK Veteran

So, I'm currently studying a distance learning course in psychology at university level and I feel a bit uneasy about what I perceive is a bias towards liberal, social constructionist, views on sexuality, which seems to be scientific consensus these days.

I would say I am quite conservative in my views. I oppose discrimination but at the same time I hold traditional views on sexuality. Especially recently when some life events have forced me to look at issues around gender roles, what is masculinity etc., I realised I believe a lot of problems have been caused by the feminist agenda etc. But I'm careful not to fall into extremist views.

Truth be told, I'm just confused about it all.

I just don't want to unquestioningly swallow something just because this is a prevalent view in society (bear in mind, I'm in Britain so it may look slightly different than in the US).

I probably won't continue with the course this year anyway, due to falling behind too much. But the other factor is this feeling of having to agree with everything, which doesn't sit well with me.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• ShanJieshi2ShanJieshi2 bahia blanca Veteran

Healthy and natural sexuality can be straight with no agenda or homo with no agenda. It can be people of all kinds finding their way without the need for imposed agendas. Obviously this imposition is not something innocent and casual, but has a great impact through media and education.