Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Beginners Question

lobsterlobster Veteran
edited April 2022 in Buddhism Basics

Back to basics … again.

As a perpetual beginner, I am always trying to refine a few basic questions and answers. What are your basic questions and work in progress answers?

Does Buddhism work?

The Buddhist model is based primarily upon overcoming dissatisfaction and ignorance and developing skills to improve our life experience.

How does Buddhism work?

By encouraging skilful and virtuous behaviour, awareness of ones activity and responses to stimuli and constantly changing for improved potential.

Examples?

Adopted precepts/disciplines refine our understanding and future direction.

Avoiding distracting, destructive and unskilful traits, empowers and increases a helpful basis.

Meditation helps us become aware of interior patterns, focus and chaos and develop resolve to find beneficial processes.

Chanting improves our attention, focus, breathing and health.

Prostrations

https://buddhaweekly.com/the-psychology-of-buddhist-prostrations-the-humble-bow-a-meaningful-method-to-connect-with-buddha-nature/

FleaMarketJeroenShoshin1personrocala

Comments

• KotishkaKotishka Veteran
    edited April 2022

I find that some destructive tasks are layered with constructions like "pleasurable" "cool" "socially engaging" which in the long run I recognise as unproductive and "require to be ceased for the sake of being genuine to the path".

Adopted? Precepts, discipline.

Avoiding? Over-intellectualisation.... bad habits (smoking, lying, measuring benefits).