Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind

Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind by Suzuki Roshi

Found this and I'm not finished yet but currently going through it. So far it's quite useful and wanted to share/discuss.

"Best use of a beginners mind is keeping it"
-How

"In the beginners mind there are many possibilities, in the expert's mind there are few."
-Jeroen

"I'm no beginner, I've been doing this for months!"
-Me probably

You got those from this book didn't you? Any more good ones?

Comments

• To accept some idea of truth without experiencing it is like a painting of a cake on paper which you cannot eat.
    Shunryu Suzuki

I have had cake like that, reminds me of eucharist :o

Everything is perfect, but there is a lot of room for improvement.
    Shunryu Suzuki

Ah ha … that means better cake …

Leave your front door and your back door open.
    Allow your thoughts to come and go.
    Just don't serve them tea.

Unless they bring cake?

https://www.azquotes.com/quote/1378828

FleaMarketShoshin1pegembara
  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

“What we call "I" is just a swinging door which moves when we inhale and when we exhale.”
    ― Shunryu Suzuki

“Emotionally we have many problems, but these problems are not actual problems; they are something created; they are problems pointed out by our self-centered ideas or views.”
    ― Shunryu Suzuki

“The true purpose [of Zen] is to see things as they are, to observe things as they are, and to let everything go as it goes... Zen practice is to open up our small mind.”
    ― Shunryu Suzuki