Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Shin Buddhism

edited December 2009 in Buddhism Basics
Not sure if I am posting this in the right section. I have a Buddhist Church in the town that I live in. Can someone enlighten me on Shin Buddhism? I will be giving them a call to talk with them to see if this is the place for me. Yes I am new to Buddhism although I have read a book or two several years ago and over the last two years I keep coming back to wanting to learn Buddhism. I am at a point in my life that it is just right so I will be jumping in head first. Thanks in advance

Comments

• edited July 2009
    No idea, I'm afraid. Chinese / Japanese Buddhism is my weak point. Sorry.
  • gracklegrackle Veteran
    edited July 2009
    Dear Zenshin,
    Both Jodo-shin-shu and jodo-shu are refered to as devotional schools. They rely on Amidas 48 vows. The former is entirely lay. The latter both lay and monastic. The latter is quite close to Chinese Pureland. Devotional schools rely on other power rather than self power. Devotional practice often sees deceptively simple. But its not.

grackle
  • edited December 2009