Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism, College & Laziness?

ravkesravkes Veteran
edited February 2010 in Buddhism Basics
I'm an undergraduate in college who doesn't "enjoy" school. I understand that I need to get a degree so I can get a job so I can eat and live and give, but even with this motivation I find myself struggling to do any work for my classes because of my disinterest with the "conditioned" world and rigid structure. I was just wondering what Buddhism has to say about laziness and how to deal with it.

Thank you.

Comments

• edited January 2010
    Maybe you just need a change of perspective. College is not to get you a job(although it is generally the end result) this is a very common misconception. College is there to help you become a more skillful thinker (I think Buddhism can help do that too.) Don't think of College as a task and part of getting a job as the end result (this surely isn't a very skillful Buddhist way) instead think of it as a journey to improve yourself (A skillful action from any perspective.)

As a Philosophy major I should know.
  • edited January 2010
    I concur with Inji-gyo.