Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Feelings

edited September 2012 in Buddhism Basics
I'm new to Buudhism and I nearly gave up recently as the point I've got to I interpreted it to mean we shouldn't mourn death. I can't remember exactly what I read but it was about attachment to feelings.

I thought about it a little more and I then wondered how often we actually choose to feel sad etc. Lots of people I know (well mainly women) choose to watch certain films as they make them cry.

The thing that actually scares me about taking Buddhism further is that if I want to become enlightened it comes at the expense of not being able to love somebody to the extent that we virtually become the same person, how when they are gone part of me will be gone and I will be inconsolable for a time.

Comments

• I think enlightenment is just like... Ultimate love (not everyone will agree with me on this point though). So maybe it would stop you feeling that way... But maybe feeling that way isn't love at all. And if feeling that way IS love, then you'll still feel that way. Either way, win win, still love :)
    MaryAnne
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited September 2012
    When my dog died I was so sad for some time, but my learning in Buddhism inspired me to just feel my feelings and ride them. I did not try to be any certain way, but just allowed myself to feel as I did.

As it is, as it is. Let all things be as they are.
    federicaMaryAnne
  • Gavin said: