Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Posters

I want to create some posters for my own use to remind me of the basics of Buddhism to post around the house. The Four Noble Truths, The Noble Eightfold Path etc. with their explanations.

Does anybody have any examples I can use or some ideas?

Comments

• I painted a flower with the ground all mucked up. I am an unskilled painter so the ground looked like crap but that's the point that the flower grows out of something that is a mess. The flower had 4 leaves to symbolize the Four Noble Truths.

I also painted a meditator with all kinds of auras around him and a branching semi-trunk winding through the auras with a quasi-stream flowing out of the edges of the painting and winding with the branch of the tree.

I also painted a flower with colored pencils in a dark set black and blue 'weather' around it. The faint pink flower symbolized the awake part of the heart in all this surrounding darkness.
  • zombiegirlzombiegirl beating the drum of the lifeless in a dry wasteland Veteran
    I have an old table runner that instead of throwing away, I did a painstakingly long process of copying the Heart Sutra onto. I decided to use these large letter stamps to spell it all out... So, I was working one letter at a time, painting each one individually (because ink wouldn't show on the fabric). It took many hours. But for me, the point was as much to help memorize it as to create something I could hang on the wall.
    sharonsaw
  • personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran