Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

question about meditation

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
Hi All,

which is better : is paying attention to whatever is happening in the present moment (which can include thoughts, physical body sensations of say heart beating, or a humming sound caused by tinnitus in ears, - means without focussing on any particular area) - or - paying attention to say only meditation object like breath, by taking awareness to the front of the face? Please suggest.

Comments

• Hi All,

which is better : is paying attention to whatever is happening in the present moment (which can include thoughts, physical body sensations of say heart beating, or a humming sound caused by tinnitus in ears, - means without focussing on any particular area) - or - paying attention to say only meditation object like breath, by taking awareness to the front of the face? Please suggest.

It depends on what meditation practice you are entering into at that moment in time I guess. To my knowledge (and with meditation it is not always too hot), focusing on the breath is only a means to obtain a focused, calm and clear mind from which you can then delve into other aspects of the mind and how it operates. This is Vipassana though. Why not try one of your methods for a week and then try the other for the next week and see which works best for you?
  • BhanteLuckyBhanteLucky Alternative lifestyle person in the South Island of New Zealand New Zealand Veteran
    It depends on your objectives. What do you meditate for?