Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

how to develop mindfulness? please suggest.

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited May 2013 in Buddhism Basics
hi all,

how to develop mindfulness? specially in daily activities. please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• SabreSabre Veteran
    As James said, meditation. But also sense restraint and virtuous conduct.
    misecmisc1
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    Doing everyday activities at a slower more mindful pace. Internal chanting. Focus on the breath during the day. Contemplating a koan such as, 'what is this?' to each experience. Seeing our life experience as manifestation of the Tathāgatagarbha
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tathagatagarbha_Sutras
    . . . or a particular deity practice such as Kuan Yin . . .
    "Rocks, willows, lotus pools or running water are often indications of her presence. In the chime of bronze or jade, the sigh of wind in the pines, the prattle and tinkle of streams, her voice is heard."
    http://www.earlywomenmasters.net/masters/kuanyin/

Being mindful can not be avoided.
    Being mindless . . . ah . . . that is a different story . . .
    :wave:
    Migyur
  • Invincible_summerInvincible_summer Heavy Metal Dhamma We(s)t coast, Canada Veteran
    For daily activities, you could even try focusing on the movements you are making and the mind-states you are experiencing while doing gardening, taking out the garbage, cooking, answering phones, etc.
    lobsterMigyurmisecmisc1