Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist newcomer searching for direction

edited October 2005 in Buddhism Basics
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to Buddhism and I actually haven't a clue on where to start. Does anyone know where I could go to study in NYC ( I'm currently a student so an y place thats at no cost is preferable). I am deeply interested in learning meditation for clarity of mind and spirit. If anyone can help me and point me in the right direction I would be glad to hear frmo you. Thanks everyone.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited October 2005
    Welcome Greg!
    Nice of you to come in and post. I can't personally give you the info you're looking for, but I'm sure someone will come in with the help you're looking for! Just thought I'd extend the first wlcome!
    Make yourself at home, I'll put kettle on.....:lol:
  • ajani_mgoajani_mgo Veteran
    edited October 2005
    And I extend the second! Hola brother! Unfortunately I can't help you find a place... But just to let you know, sometimes you can learn from books too, not just a real person, though it is preferred... I started out in Buddhism using only books and still is, with the addition of this forum.
  • SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited October 2005
  • edited October 2005
    ajani_mgo wrote: