Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

When to Visit Monastery?

laughing_statuelaughing_statue Explorer
edited November 2010 in Buddhism Basics
I realize this is a pretty lame question. I'm really new to Buddhism, but I know that I am in it for the long-term. There is a great Buddhist monastery near my college. I'm not sure when it's really okay to go though? I mean, I know I need to call (I have the number) to see when they are meditating and things, but when am I ready to meditate there with other people? I have meditated on my own some, read all about Buddhism, have a small Buddha statue, I've been trying to be a better person, and I have read much of the Dhammapada. But I really am still totally new. And especially since I know I will be visiting alone, do you just walk in and sit or what? And, if you go to a temple of some kind, how long after getting into Buddhism or becoming a Buddhist did you first go to your temple? What have your experiences in temples been like? How often do you go and for how long? Sorry. I'm just kind of nervous about the whole thing. But I really want to go at some point. Thanks so much in advance!

Comments

• edited November 2010
    I suggest you just call them up and ask them. They can answer those questions better than any of us can.
  • edited November 2010
    Barge in and throw yourself at their mercy.
    If they offer you cool-aid or punch.. politely decline...and escape!
  • seeker242seeker242 Zen Florida, USA Veteran
    edited November 2010