Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to tell your family

edited October 2011 in Faith & Religion
Greetings. I'm new to this forum and just wanted to take a moment to ask a question. I am fairly new to Buddhism. I practice Zen as it fits me the best. My wife fully supports my practicing Buddhism as it has helped me greatly in the area of anger management. However, my parents are very devout Christians. In fact the pastor of my mother's church routinely ridicules Buddhists and mocks the Dalai Lama. My problem is this, I want to share with my family how Buddhism has helped me with my anger, but I don't know how to approach the topic. Most conversations with my mother end with her lecturing me about God and how I need to pray and go to church etc.

Comments

• Accept what is. If they don't want you to be buddhist or if they think it is bad then thats the way it is. The thing that hurts the most is having your expectations dissapointed, I think. Let me know if this doesn't seem too helpful.
  • Accept what is. If they don't want you to be buddhist or if they think it is bad then thats the way it is. The thing that hurts the most is having your expectations dissapointed, I think. Let me know if this doesn't seem too helpful.
    Actually it's very helpful. I've always known my family wasn't very open minded about other views. I guess I sort of harbored the idea that maybe, just maybe, if they sat down and learned about other ways they would be more accepting. But I know that's not the case.
  • NomaDBuddhaNomaDBuddha Scalpel wielder :) Bucharest Veteran