Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Fanatical Buddhism?

edited January 2012 in Buddhism Basics
I read through all the threads here, even if I don't comment on them. I like the educational experience it provides me. I'm new to Buddhism and enjoying learning. If something is brought up in a discussion I'm not familure with I'll look it up.

But as is the case with anything, when you are looking for one question you often receive numerous answers. Which one is right? Are they all correct? Are they all wrong? Perhaps there is a certain degree of truth to each, but not in it's entirety a truth?

That made me think of the so called "Fanatics" of religion. On one side you have a group who say "That's not what the Bible/Quran etc. says! The Bible/Quran etc. says this!" When you look closer and really study it you realise BOTH sides have perhaps a valid argument, or you may realize you don't agree with either side as you find the Bible/Quran etc to say something entirely different.