Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Theravada Mahayana

shanyinshanyin Novice YoginSault Ontario Veteran
edited April 2013 in Philosophy
Does Mahayana hold that Theravada has one or more wrong view? If so, what is it?
And visa versa.

This question may seem cold. I have utmost respect for both traditions and its adherants.

Let me give you some background about me. Where I live in Ontario, we are about an eight hour drive from any Sangha. Wikipedia says there are about 7 Buddhists in our 70 000 population, lol. When I started meditating because of coming across a Buddhist teacher on the internet, I started learning from him about the eightfold path. He was a Theravadin Buddhist. So it seems easy to drift to Theravadin category because it seems easier to focus on the foundation teachings like the eightfold path. When I think of Mahayana I think of that they are exclusively focused being Bodhisattvas.

I admit, my intellect might not understand some of what people say. Taiyaki has commented on things like the nature of nirvana and I think he is very smart, so I'm interested to see if he has anything he can say. But honestly it was over my head. I guess also what I'm asking is, would one school hold that picking one over the other is problematic?

Comments

• shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    Thank you. I guess one way I could do it is to just study them.
  • BhanteLuckyBhanteLucky Alternative lifestyle person in the South Island of New Zealand New Zealand Veteran
    edited April 2013
    A thread dedicated to pointing out the perceived faults of various schools...
    I'll pass.