Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Fear of causing harm

I have been meditating since a few years and reading a lot about buddhism, visited some local sanga's. Well i consider myself a beginner but i try to walk the path. I must say this has been benificial for me but also for my children my wife.... . I am very grateful for that.

Since i was young i suffer from OCD, luckily i had some great therapists and also i met somebody that is a yoga teacher but is very interested in all things spiritual, this man opened my eyes. My OCD is still there but it has diminished much.

The trigger for my OCD is the idea that i could have done something in a way that this could cause harm other people. Example i mounted something to the ceiling (a light), oh did i do it good enough.... maybe somebody could get injured or killed !! Well as i said these days i am mostly able to let it be.

However basically my brain is like always scanning for these kind of possibilities, causing a constant flow of mild fear and guilt. That is what i found when meditating, and i sit with this undercurrent when meditating feeling what it does inside my body. Sometimes it get's to me and i have a lot of anxiety.

Well a big part of buddhism is not causing harm to other beings. OK this is within the range of what a "normal" person would consider as taking enough precautions in order to cause no harm. Anyway i never found a buddhism quote on that one could exaggerate in this "causing no harm".

Any input is welcome.

Michel

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran