Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Sense of urgency and possibility

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited August 2015 in General Banter

hi all,

for the past few weeks, i have been hearing talks on death meditation and how death can help in arising a sense of urgency within us for practice. i even think that i will die at some time in future, but this thought of dying does not create a sense of urgency within me.

so thought of asking you all - what arises the sense of urgency within you for your practice?

also, is knowing the ultimate truth or awakening possible without sitting meditation?

please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• EarthninjaEarthninja Wanderer West Australia Veteran

I contemplate death, because that's how I will end up. And because there is resistance to death, I know I have attachments to life. These attachments cause suffering.
    Alan Watts says death is a great help in this life, we never know when we are going to die. Could be today,
    Contemplating this helps let go, why do I care what so and so said to me? He and I are both headed for the grave,
    May as well enjoy the shapes of clouds. Human life is a transient phenomena, yet we pretend we are not going to die,

I would say awakening is very possible without sitting meditation. I base this on what other beings have said about awakening.
    Some people have had awakenings with no meditation background at all.
    It's all to do with how we perceive reality, not to do with how we sit.
    Although some people have woken up this way too.