Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What is purpose of ceremony?

racerskaracerska Indiana, USA Explorer

Hello everyone,
I'm still a newb to the Buddhist practice, but I'm an enthusiastic learner and in my quest to read every book on Buddhism in my local library system, I've been reading What the Buddha Taught by Wapola Rahula. I have found it to be an excellent text, but I have a question about a small point the author makes in Chapter 5. At the end of that chapter he explains that the eight-fold path is about developing the self, it has "nothing to do with belief, prayer, worship or ceremony." Side note, this is exactly the sort of thing that attracted me to Buddhism in the first place. He goes on to say:

"In Buddhist countries there are simple and beautiful customs and ceremonies on religious occasions. They have little to do with the real Path. But they have their value in satisfying certain religious emotions and the needs of those who are less advanced, and helping them gradually along the Path."