Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is there a treatise or line of thought justifying the existence of the Unconditioned?

TorTor California New

I am new to the practice and it was easy to buy into the idea that our reality is conditioned. But the Unconditioned? There seems to be an absence of teaching that helps the learner arrive at an easy, logical conclusion that since the Conditioned exists, that there must also be an Unconditioned. I personally am taking it on faith right now, and before Buddhism I thought of the Unconditioned as the "place" to where I would transcend spiritually, so it was also easy to replace my own notions with the word "unconditioned".

For example, a nihilist could probably accept that our world is conditioned, but in the absence of faith, what teachings exist that could convince the nihilist that the Unconditioned is worthy of consideration??? Have I missed a key teaching?

person

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

You might be interested in this.

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited May 2016

The unconditioned is not the mind but it does refer to the mind that is not conditioned by emotions & thoughts.

A simple example is pure water. The pure water is not conditioned by impurities, such as dirt, colour, flavours, etc..

The term "Unconditioned" refers to the quality of the water rather than to the water itself.