Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why Do I Never Learn?

ThailandTomThailandTom Veteran
edited March 2011 in Buddhism Basics
This has began to become apparent to me more so recently and subsequently make me question certain things.

Going back through my teens, I was known as somebody who never learned from their mistakes that well, basically blindly ignorant.
I have been practicing or learning shall I say, the dharma now for more than 2 years and don't get me wrong, it has helped for some aspects of my life. One example accepting things for how they are, that some things are out of our control so why fight and use energy to try and change them.

I KNOW quite a lot of the teachings in depth, such as impermanence, living in the present moment, understanding how attachments affect our lives, compassion and loving kindness.
Sometimes people ask me for advice with their problems and I do not lecture them, but speak wisely, and as my own sister said not too long ago, 'you appear a lot more wiser these days tom' as she asked for some help with something.