Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What are the Benefits of Studying Buddhism at an Intellectual Level?

Lotus21Lotus21 Indiana Explorer
edited August 2012 in Philosophy
Currently I am studying Buddhism, not just reading as if I am going to take a final exam soon. :)
Although I enjoy doing it I would like to hear from this community, especially those of us who have done so in the past. What were the actual benefits from such experiences?

Comments

• Right view plants seeds. So immediately you may not use or recognize the profound liberating nature of the dharma, but deeply planting seeds is important. This goes with merit, morality, etc. All seeds eventually flower be it today or tomorrow.

So now you're attracted towards the intellectual aspect of buddhism, but maybe that will take you further into practice and the path itself. If not, maybe the next life.
  • I have really studied it deeply at an intellectual level over the years.

Jeepers, I even have a book on Wittgenstein and Buddha (In truth, I couldn't finish that one!).

In terms of less-dukka-more-sukka I really don't think there is much benefit (It took me years to get to this acknowledgement)

As an philosophical/intellectual exercise it's interesting.

Dharma is really pretty simple and I would wager most ten year olds could understand it faster than most professors!

Ultimately, whether taking it from a teacher, getting their yourself or reading your way, you come to the point where you know that:

a) It is indupitable.
    b) Much more about the practice than the pondering:)

That's my thoughts!:)

• VictoriousVictorious Grim Veteran