Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Prayer Card

I'm new to Buddhist practices and am learning new things all the time. I heard a story from a man who travelled to Tibet and was told about a prayer card. It could be from a branch of Buddhism called avatar or avatara? The prayer card consists of writing down three things that you really want to accomplish on a business card piece of paper and insert it into your wallet so that whenever you open your wallet you see this card. The process takes three years to actualize these desired accomplishments. Apparently, it helps to focus the mind toward these goals. Is there any substance to this?

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited October 2010
    Theravada Buddhism would view this as superstitious nonsense.

I have to say this sounds remarkably "new Age" and something one would find in the book "The Secret" or some such modern 'self-help' psychobabble.
    I've honestly never heard of such a thing, personally, but then, I'm prepared to be proven incorrect....

Put it this way, Kamma is for you to transform and generate and there is no guarantee you will even be here in 3 years' time.
    Part of Buddhist teaching is that Living in the past, or looking to the future are both futile exercises, because the only moment which exists is the Present Moment.
    The Buddha came to teach about the origin of Suffering, and the cessation of Suffering.