Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

physical happiness

aHappyNihilistaHappyNihilist Veteran
edited November 2010 in Buddhism Basics
i'm very new to buddhism, this is my first post, i've got a question i've been thinking about ever since understanding the basics of buddhism. I've philosophically reconciled everything else with logic but I don't understand one thing. What is the advantage of mental happiness over physical happiness?
I accept that physical happiness will lead to mental suffering but, theoretically if you were to be physically happy all the time what is the benefit of mental happiness as opposed to this physical happiness?

Comments

• edited November 2010
    Being "happy" all the time seems like an absurd notion to me. It is a feeling (mental or physical) which, when it stops, we wish to encounter it again.

There are 3 types of suffering, the elimination of which is the goal of Buddhism.

1) The suffering of change. Because all happiness ends it is unsatisfactory.
    2) The suffering of suffering. This is what we normally think of as suffering, pain, etc.
    3) The suffering of uncontrollable rebirths. This is caused by delusion, greed, & aversion.
  • edited November 2010