Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A few questions to start off

edited December 2010 in Buddhism Basics
What is one "Buddhist" thing i can do today?

Now...some may find this strange..I am an amateur astronomer. I have been involved in this hobby for near 20 years. Although not my profession I help out at observatories and supply data to the avvso etc. How does Buddhists view astronomy and creation? where does the universe fit in to the religion?

Is "Buddhism for dummies" a good starting book for a complete beginner?

Comments

• >>>>>"mikaakim">>>>What is one "Buddhist" thing i can do today?

Be kind.

>>>Now...some may find this strange..I am an amateur astronomer. I have been involved in this hobby for near 20 years.

Cool! As an aside, what do you make of this: nI have been to skymap and they are there for sure.

>>>How does Buddhists view astronomy and creation?

You might like HHDL "The Universe in a Single Atom". Great book. i don't know the answer to your specific questions.

>>>Is "Buddhism for dummies" a good starting book for a complete beginner?

What the Buddha Taught by Rupolla is in my mind and many other's the best book to start with. Check out the reviwes on amazon:)

namaste

• Anything SETI says you can pretty much declare as pure fun lol

Those objects are nothing more than simply refractions of light. more than likely of the ultraviolet kind
  • edited December 2010
    AS ABOVE SO BELOW