Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Questions about the Great Vow on saving all beings from suffering...

Hello,

I am new here so I would like to make a newbie question about the Great Vow on saving all beings from suffering. OK for me Buddhism is all about liberation for myself. That was my vision, till I studied a little bit about Zen Buddhism and found that it is part of the Mahayana school that gives great emphasis on the previously mentioned vow.

First of all I am not feeling very comfortable about the whole vow thing, but if we vow to the Buddha within I think I have already taken various vows unconsciously on my spiritual path. So the questions are:

1) Is it necessary to save all beings to attain Buddhahood? I am asking this because I believe that each and one of us is responsible for his/ her own strive towards enlightenment.
2) After attaining enlightenment (which is the goal to liberate our selves from the circle of Samsara as I understand it and end suffering), we come back again to save others?
3) So (this might sound silly), if let’s say we manage to save all beings, what happens next, do we live in a sort of 'paradise' happily ever after.

As I said before these are newbie questions so I would ask for your kindness before starting throwing stones at me ... ;)

Comments

• aMattaMatt Veteran
    The Buddha did not take that vow, and even so worked for the betterment of all of life. Really, I wouldn't put too much thought into it. If and when a vow like that seems like the right thing to do, it'll happen without reservation.