Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Rebirth 101

ClayTheScribeClayTheScribe Veteran
edited August 2011 in Buddhism Basics
So I'm new to Buddhism and I haven't got a clear answer to my questions surrounding rebirth. What is rebirth? How is it different than reincarnation? How is it the same? If I don't achieve enlightenment in this lifetime, will I come back into this life or a different, new life? How is this possible if I don't have a soul? I don't ask these questions because I'm obsessed with life after death or even afraid of what comes, I'm just really curious because I have always had the inclination to believe in reincarnation, but I was told rebirth is different.

Comments

• I'll answer the "how is it possible without a soul" question. Mahayana, and Tibetan buddhism in particular, get around the required belief in no-soul by saying that there are 3 degrees of mind: the gross mind (our everyday mind), the subtle mind, and the "very subtle mind". There's something similar in Therevada, the alaya vijnana, the "seed consciousness", that carries the karmic seeds with it from past lifetimes, if I got that straight. (The things you learn on this forum! It's amazing!)