Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

ADHD Meditation. HELP!

edited December 2011 in Meditation
I have been studying Buddhism for about a year now and for the past 6 months or so have TRIED to meditate. However I find it Impossiable to FOCUS! I've tried different times of the day and various locations and so on and so forth but my Meditations always go something like this:
"Breath in..Breath-I wonder if the car insurance payment it coming out of the account this week. I better check and see how much is in there....Focus. Breath in-Jingle Bells Jingles Bells. FOCUS!! Breath in...Breath out...Man, my pulse rate is really high! FOCUS! Breath in-My blood pressure must be going up. I don't think Meditation is supposed to ELEVATE my blood pressure and pulse. My knee hurts. Maybe Yoga wasn't such a great idea. FOCUS! Breath in...Breath-Did I feed the cat?"
Yea, Just like that. It's actually giving me MORE anxiety! I'm at the point now where I'm actually, physically losing sleep over it because I have myself so worked up that I can't get myself to calm down. What am I doing wrong? How do I clear my mind out so I can actually ENJOY the experience? As far as I can tell, Meditation is supposed to help you achieve enlightenment, not an anxiety induced CVA or stoke. Please Help!! Thanks. :)

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    Believe it or not - that's progress.
    the fact that you are so much aware of your chattering mind, means that you are being mindful.