Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Dhammapada's take on Love and Lust.

edited July 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Upon reading some sutras from the Dhammapada, I came across the following. Again, I'm a newbie, so I may be a little off with the Buddhist terms. However here is the word for word line or sutra:

27. Follow not after vanity, nor after the enjoyment of love and lust. He who is earnest and meditative obtains ample joy.

I would like to have your sincere thought on this. Personally, I am not too sure. I was already aware of the powers of lust and its ability to sway one from reaching concentration, furthermore, I pictured Lust as the main synonym to Māra.
On the other hand, love is something more serene. It can lead one to wonders, but if a scientific approach is taken, surely love is some form of lust (in the animal kingdom). Then again, what about family love, friendly love, pet love, etc?

Comments

• Following the "enjoyment" of any kind of "love" would be problematic.

That would be attachment, grasping at some concept.. "love".. some feeling.

Instead, just being open in the moment love and such can naturally arise. It isn't something that is followed after or squeezed out it is organic, natural, obsession free.
  • Yet how would that be considered love? You define it as; appreciation. Love to me, is selfish and obsessive; yet beautiful in its own way. Lust on the other hand can seem a little more on the primitive side; the compulsive need of dopamine.

The Dhammapada's take on love, seems as that of an ascetic.