Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What is Nirvana and What is the Essential Mind?

edited September 2012 in Philosophy
I'm pretty new to Buddhism. All my life, I have been raised as a Catholic, with a Catholic family, and I live in a very religious, Christian town. However, I never truly connected with the faith, and recently began researching Buddhism. I've only been studying really extensively for the past few months, and have been concentrating mostly on modern references. I feel that educating myself with more current texts will make understanding Buddhist concepts simpler for me because they would be more relatable. However, I have come to a few blocks as I try to embrace such big ideas. I've had a few questions in particular:

The past few months, I've been trying to grasp the idea of 'non-existence' and the idea that there is no such thing as the Self. I feel pretty stable with these concepts, so far. However, what I don't understand is, if there is no such thing as the Self, if we do not inherently exist, then how can we ever truly achieve Nirvana? How can we, beings who do not inherently exist, have permanent residence in Nirvana? If We are all insubstantial beings in an insubstantial world, doesn't this completely contradict with the existence of Nirvana? Buddhism philosophy is based on the concept that nothing inherently exists. How does the idea of Nirvana fit with this concept?