Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

No Buddha in a (expletive deleted) foxhole!

I'm a veteran of the U.S. Air Force. I also am involved in veteran's affairs, specifically I volunteer at the local VA Hospital and also I belong to the local American Legion post.
I was wearing a necklace with the Sanskrit "Om Mani Padme Hum" mantra on it and a guy asked me "What are you wearing?" I explained to him what it was and he looked at me incredulously. He then asked me "Why are you wearing that?"
I told him I was a Buddhist and I like to wear it because I like how it looks. He then said "Their isn't any (f******) Buddha in a (G**D***) foxhole." I was stunned. I replied that it's unfortunate you believe this way and walked away.

My question is how do you react to overtly hostile people like this? I've debated religion on a non hostile way with both Christians and Muslims, and in the end we all tend to smile and go on our ways, but I've never had to hear this before.
Thank you

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited January 2010
    I've heard that one before. I often am in religious chatrooms and I will remind you that there is very much ignorance, anger, and greed in people. Immaturity I imagine.
  • fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited January 2010
    Why react at all? What's the problem?
  • edited January 2010
    So we shouldn't react at all? What about the tizzy of the Brit Hume comment? I'm not going to sit there and argue with the guy, it's obvious he isn't going to want to listen as his cup is already full of tea.
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited January 2010