Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Portrait of Shakymuni Buddha

NMADDPNMADDP SUN Diego, California Veteran
edited March 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone, newbie here :).

I searched for images of Buddhas and found this one portrait of the Shakymuni Buddha.

Does anyone know about this portrait and the history how this portrait was discovered? Searched around, but not finding anything.

See attached image.

The Chinese characters at the bottom of the portrait:
Shakymuni Buddha at the age of 41.
Buddha's disciple Purana drew the portrait of the his teacher.
This portrait is currently kept at England's Royal Museum and considered as national treasure.

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran
    I've been a Buddhist for a while now and its the first time I've even heard of the notion that an actual image of Shakyamuni Buddha may exist. My opinion is that its probably not authentic, but I have no idea.
  • I have never come across an actual picture that claims to be a portrait. I think this image is probably like those images you see of Jesus, just the artists impression of what the guy may have looked like using logic and maybe some historic resources. Who knows... I doubt the answer will never be answered.
  • First, I've never heard of a disciple named Purana. Second, any art historian would laugh at the suggestion the realistic portrait above is from 500 BC. Third, the paints available at that time would have deteriorated in spite of and even because of the early efforts to preserve it and it certainly wouldn't look like a new painting.