Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I Do Not Exist

I'm relatively new to Buddhism so I thought I'd start my focus on something light like the concept of reality.

I was thinking along nicely and then I found myself thinking that if we're all made from atoms and it's true that atoms are actually 99.99999% space then I truly do not really exist. The atoms that I'm not made from come from all over the universe and after I've died the atoms that are spinning around the illusion that is me will eventually migrate to other parts of the universe.

I just thought I'd share this thought but it's probably been had many times.
JeffreyI_AM_THAT

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited November 2012
    Yes that is part of the analysis in my view. Of course when you see a newborn kitten you don't think of atoms. So there must be more to it I think. I studied chemistry though and another way of thinking of atoms is waves of particles. The particles are likely to be in certain parts, they have more density. If you shoot a beam of X-rays the light rays do a little dance with the atoms say in a crystal and from the diffraction pattern you can see where the atoms are! So they appear to have some structure other than chaos. Why do you think there is a predictable structure? Why this way instead of say just like things appearing in the middle of the air like you just walk out of your house next thing the house vanishes and rays of light start shooting out of the sky. You know something just bizarre like in a dream. I don't have an answer of course, just brainstorming.
  • TheEccentricTheEccentric Hampshire, UK Veteran