Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

New to Buddhism.

I'm new to Buddhism. I'm in the process of reading the eightfold path, and then the precepts. In the process of doing so, I'm finding that I'm at a loss of how to practice Buddhism. I also don't know what "type" of Buddhist I am. I would like to find the answers to these questions.
BrianTheEccentric

Comments

• BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    edited February 2013
    welcome on your path :) Firstly I'd like to say do not worry about what "type" of buddhism you are just yet. Eventually you may find one tradition fits you over any other(like myself being Theravada, many here being Tibetan, others being Zen, Ch'an etc) or you may find none do. In the end every tradition has the core buddhist teachings in there pretty much and for the most part all traditions get along quite well. We view it as different rafts across the stream of samsara(endless rebirth). We are all going the same direction.. hopefully :).

Secondly I suggest learning about the very basics of Buddhism. I highly suggest www.buddhanet.net which is a great website for learning the basics and has whole courses that I use in teaching a basics of buddhism class. Here is the link to the education section. http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/index.htm

The main practice of the buddhist path is that of meditation, and there are two main types taught by the Buddha, Samatha(serenity) which developes concentration and Vipassana(insight) which develops wisdom.