Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Acceptance and motivation

I'm somewhat new to Buddhism, and as I'm learning more I'm finding that I am being bothered by the idea of acceptance. I feel that maybe I'm not informed enough on the matter. If we are to just accept things as they are , where does the motivation for positive change and progress come from ? Also, can anyone offer any good pointers on material that will make it easier for me to not only
learn about Buddhist philosophy, but give me ideas on how to practice it in my everyday life ? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Thank you, I think I am understanding it more clearly now.

• ToraldrisToraldris   -`-,-{@     Zen Nud... Buddhist     @}-,-`-   East Coast, USA Veteran
    edited October 2014

@samson What I said is just a really broad (and scant) overview though, so you'll definitely want to follow that link and look for more stuff to read! It's one thing to say what Buddhism is about, and another thing to actually delve into specifics and apply effort toward bringing about real change in your life based on Buddhist teachings.

samson
  • HamsakaHamsaka goosewhisperer Polishing the 'just so' Veteran
    edited October 2014

That is a very good question, very relevant. It's hard to articulate what acceptance means. It's more about acknowledging 'what is', and has little or nothing to do with whether or not you like it.

You can be in a situation that is 'all wrong' and be in full acceptance that it is happening while planning for a change.