Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Love - shaped hole in Buddhism?

So I have been having a bit of a crisis of faith lately (as much as we can talk about faith in Buddhist context). I apologize to you all for many of my recent posts being somewhat dark and negative. Yet that is where I am in my spiritual journey so thank you for bearing with me.

There is this one dark spot of my Buddhist practice that I have been running across over and over again, for several years. And that has to do with words like Love, Beauty, Caring, Heart, Hope and, once again, and most importantly, Love. You see, for me that word points to something of overwhelming importance. Experiencing that Love is really the only thing that makes life worthwhile for me. If there is such a thing as chakras, my heart chakra seems to be of utmost importance in my constitution.

Now I have read countless texts and listened to countless talks by Buddhist teachers and I do not find Buddhism to be very concerned about or even be aware of the "matters of the heart". To me Buddhism comes across as being focused elsewhere. Some (even if few) teachers have even been quoted to outright say that it is necessary to kill love.