Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The Temple Threshold Faux-Pa

edited January 2006 in Buddhism Basics
Most of my Buddhism study has been to take my life experiences and see how they relate to Buddhist philosophy. As a result I have little knowledge of protocol when at a Temple.

Last year I visited the Ji'le Temple in China. Its a "working" temple, monks live there, there are many activities going on and/or being prepared for. I was fascinated as I walked through the place. To be truthful, I had never been in the presence of Buddhist praying, offering gifts and gathering for whatever purpose they were gathering for at the time.

Anyway...

As my girlfriend lead me into a hall where many people were gathered. (When in China I generally follow her lead since she is Chinese and its her home turf) I was not paying attention to how she entered the hall so, when she smiled to say "it's OK, come in" I began to enter and in doing so stepped on and paused on the large wooden timber that is the threshold (at least thats what I'm calling it). Not good!

About 10 of the 30 or more people inside at once went from peacefully standing is some sort of formation to waving their arms, saying something (my Mandarin isn't good) in a rather urgent if not exited way. (this being northern china such open excitement is notable lol).

My g/f friend smiled and motioned me off the threshold and everyone went back to business.

Does anyone know the history and meaning of the threshold and stepping over it, rather than on?

Comments

• SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited January 2006