Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Questions about Buddhist sects

edited April 2011 in Faith & Religion
I have been studying and practicing Buddhism for several years now mostly general Buddhist knowledge. I have now become curious about the various sects and was hoping that some one can give me a general description of some of the main sects or just some good links.

Today I started reading a book called "Being Peace" by Thich Nhat Hanh. In the first ten pages I learned something that opened a door to the dharma. Breath in, breath out and smile. It makes you feel so much better and proves it makes you happy it also makes others happy to see you smile. Several times today I felt annoyed or sad, I breathed in, breathed out, and smiled. Doing this changed my mood and just seemed to open the window of the core of Buddhist practice, be happy and make others happy.

Thanks for your feed back...

Comments

• Vajrayana/Tibetan lineages: The crazy cousins that live in the attic.

Zen/Chan/Seon/Thien: The art of hitting somebody with a big stick and writing a poem about it later.

Theravada: In which dinners and dollars are obstacles to awakening.

... yes, well, if you want me to be serious:

I'm really most familiar with the Theravada tradition.

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/ - The uber-resource of Theravada Buddhism, in my opinion: has both extensive scriptural translations from the Pali Canon and modern articles by Dhamma teachers of East and West.

http://www.allisburning.org/ - Pictures of Theravadan practice and life, mainly within the Thai Forest Tradition.