Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Making Music and Meditation/Mindfulness/Buddhism

edited April 2011 in Arts & Writings
Hi there friends,

As a music-maker, songwriter and artist by profession (SUPER luctrative....hehehe - just kidding), who has for many years been prone to things like self-judgement, harsh self-criticism and writer's block, I was wondering what other meditators' experiences with making music has been, if anyone has any insights into creating freely without judging output, regardless of whether the output expresses anger, madness, unhappiness, joy, compassion, love, etc. ALL emotions.

I feel us artists don't have a choice in the matter - we will be terribly unhappy if we do not create in the way we want to.... in fact, NEED to. It's a difficult road to navigate, and difficult to get out of ones own way.

Wondering how meditation has changed/helped/affected your music-making. I feel it's important for artists to support each other, in a sangha kind of way.

(By the way, we're all creative, we're ALL artists:)

Love to you all,

Tim

Comments

• Hmmm sounds like you need to have free reign. Reflect that people are adults, though at the same time negative content is not conditioning them in a positive way. Theres a difference between provacative and negative content. Talking about bitches and hos is negative but some other content out of examples might not.