Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Defending Islam?

edited February 2008 in Faith & Religion
I found myself in quite an uncomfortable situation tonight. As you may know, I have been studying many of the world's religions for the past 2 years. Although Buddhism has caught my attention the most, I have also read parts of the Koran as well.

Tonight, my Mom read an article online about a new Barbie Doll. She is the new cousin of Barbie with olive skin and a Muslim head scarf. My mom laughed talking about the "Muslim Barie" saying that "we just have to satisfy everone these days."

I began to say something when my Dad said, "I just don't understand those Muslims. What is up with them anyway?"

I inquired as to what he meant and he responded, "Like there are all these wacko Muslims out there that hate us. You never hear of any wacko Christians trying to hurt us."

I was quite surprised by this. I think I had spoken to my Dad about different religions maybe once many years ago. I quickly explained that the "'wacko Muslims' he was referring to were for the most part fundamentalists who take everything literally in the Koran. True Muslims would not attack and murder innocents. They lived by a simple code of fasting, almsgiving, prayer, and pilgrimage."

I said a few other things about the beginnings of Islam and then mentioned it was the fastest growing religion in the world. He said, "Yeah, well...."