Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

buddhism and me

edited March 2005 in Buddhism Basics
First of all, I'm new here and wanted to introduce myself - so hello! I am new to buddhism also and very excited about my decision to pursue a more spiritual life. Recently, I have decided to make some major changes in my life and to work on being a happy and healthy person. I am slowly building my own business as a massage therapist -a career that I feel really helps people as opposed to all of the "I'm just doing this job to make money" jobs I have held in the past. I began eating more healthy and exercising regularly about 3 months ago to improve my physical health. I have been working on being more positive in all my relationships w/ others. I just sort of discovered that there was something else missing. I have always been very interested in buddhism but everyone kind of laughed at me and said it was another of my "hippie" interests but I am still so drawn to it. I had some experience w/ religion as a child but it felt very empty and obligatory to me. I really never understood it all and as a teenager and adult have completely shyed away from any mention of god because of how uncomfortable and fake it feels to me, but buddhism feels like home. It makes sense, it works, it allows you to question and improve and learn. Isn't that what spirituality should be? I think it is so wonderful how there is no prejudice towards other religions, there is no eternal damnation, how you don't even have to be a buddist or know what it means to be a buddhist to experience its benefits. I have been reading everything I can online to gain bette