Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Can some one suggest me how to do meditation and how to build my concentration levels

edited July 2011 in Meditation
I am a beginner. I don't know any thing about meditation. Can any one suggest me how to do that and how to develop my concentration levels and what type of area should we choose for doing that.

Comments

• newtechnewtech Veteran
    I am a beginner. I don't know any thing about meditation. Can any one suggest me how to do that and how to develop my concentration levels and what type of area should we choose for doing that.
    Hello Chaitunadimpalli:

There are many meditation methods, and there are many definitions of what is right concentration inside the buddhist community. So you will have to do some research and start trying techniques until you find the right one for you, because everyone will tell u a different thing. I recommend 2 approaches:

-Look for the most well known buddhist teachers online and try the meditation instructions they use.

-Look in the suttas ("official" buddhist scriptures)

Good luck!

• Go to a dark place where nothing or nobody will distract you with a pillow, candle, and something to light it with.

Set every thing up to where you are comfortably facing only the candle. Keep the matches or lighter close to your reach but do not strike to light the candle, yet.

First breath deeply and hold it for about a full second and exhale, then hold for about a full second before in haling again. Repeat this alternating inhale and exhale 30 seconds each.