Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Sitting Out of Depression

DaltheJigsawDaltheJigsaw Mountain View Veteran
edited August 2011 in Buddhism Today
In this post, I will tell you what I think of depression, my personal experience with it and how I managed to defeat it. I will tell you my personal story. I had a mild form of depression, so I can't talk about chronic, severe forms, because I've no experience with them. Here it goes.

I came from being constantly down in a bad mood sleeping 12+ hours a day first thought upon waking up "oh no, my life is real" ... and subjecting myself to compulsive negative thinking to ... loving life now. I've done it myself without the help of anyone (except books) - and there's the key. Well, actually, I haven't done a single thing. Let me tell you why.

What helped me? Just sitting. (Often referred to as "meditation", but I don't like the word since it comes from the latin "to ponder"; sitting being the very opposite of pondering.) Sitting helps not because it does something magical to the brains. I'm absolutely certain that sitting is just sitting, nothing else. It's not even a doing, it's an undoing, for the time sitting the person stops being a person for some time, it's a pause from being a human being. So also a pause from compulsive thinking, which is what usually drives us.