Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

meditation and insomnia

edited August 2011 in Meditation
Greetings! I am still very new to meditation and am so far not very good at it. One of the reason I first started to get into it is I have huge troubles with insomnia. I will lie awake for hours, my mind wondering from one bit of uselessness to the next typically getting only 3-4 hours of sleep a night. So I thought perhaps meditation would help me calm the storm a bit. Does anybody have any advice on how I might better do this? So far I have been rather unsuccessful.

Comments

• I wrote this in a similar post not so long ago, same applies though, hope it helps

"I had insomnia quite a while ago, I tried warm milk, exercise, melatonine, etc etc and none of it worked. The only thing that worked was just accepting that I could not sleep, Once I did this, after a week or so my insomnia was gone. This was a kinda verification of the four noble truths for me, as it was my desire to get rid of my insomnia that fueled it and made it worse, once I accepted it and abandoned this desire, the insomnia went. :). So my advice is simple,
    Stop worrying about not getting any sleep
    Just accept it. Say to yourself if I get sleep thats great but if I dont get any sleep that is fine also. This way no matter what it won't faze you or trouble you, which in turn will make it easier for you to actually get a good night sleep."

• GuyCGuyC Veteran
    edited August 2011
    Hi Cosmic,