Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Question on Mindfulness

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2011 in Meditation
Hi All,

As per my understanding, mindfulness is just plain observation without any thought.

So my questions are:
1. Can a person become 100% mindful by living in current world, or even 50% mindful?
2. It is said that mindfulness leads to wisdom - but the question is if mindfulness is plain observation without any thought in mind, so just by seeing the things as they are - how can a person get wisdom, without thinking about it?

My questions can be too stupid to ask, but you all can consider me such a stupid to ask these things. If someone knows the answers to the above questions, please help. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    No, Mindfulness is not 'just observation without any thought'.
    Almost the opposite.
    mindfulness is remaining fully alert in the moment, and observing the skilfulness and usefulness of everything you think, say and do.
    Mindfulness means being so vigilant, that not a moment goes by without you having evaluated the care, compassion and awareness invested in it, by you.