Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Thinking of doing a degree in languages.

edited December 2011 in General Banter
I've been thinking about furthering my language hobby by actually studying them at a college or a university.

I've been studying languages for about 9 years. I practiced Russian in particular over the internet by speaking to Russians via webcam and improving my speaking and listening skills, and they'd practice their English with me in return. Rosetta stone are a rip-off, so for about 9 years I've used dictionaries and whatever books I can find to practice and it's worked pretty well. When I was 17 I shelled out on a rosetta stone. I've used Mango languages, Teach Yourself, and various books and practiced reading from Russian books and speaking with them and reading to them and they'd tell me where I've gone wrong. I can hold a conservation with a Russian and I don't need them to slow down. Other than a crappy accent I speak excellent Russian. In fact my Russian is better than my English. I speak with a heavy northern British accent. If you spoke to me in English then you wouldn't understand a single Tyke-tongued word I said. I've never had this problem speaking to a Russian. My Russian friend speaks to me in Russian and I can hold a conversation about anything with her.