Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Five aggregates of clinging (pancca upadana skandha)

2»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran

From this contact, feeling arises which is based on our perception.

are you sure about this?

Perception is the labelling of phenomena in our memory database like labelling a colour as red, green etc. So when we see a rose, eye-consciousness sees a rose but does not recognize it as a rose, it is perception which tells that the object being viewed is a rose, and perception knows it because we have labelled that flower object as rose in our mind which leads to it getting stored in our memory database.

above is correct, but does above need us to feel?
    or
    just the contact is enough for feeling?

(it is true Buddha's Teaching says that as soon as there is seeing (eyes see a rose) all five aggregates arise and in a split second all five aggregates fall, but if we try to see within ourselves whether that saying is true, we have to try it and see using our own eye)

and
    what do you feel when you see a rose (or any pleasant thing)
    have you tried it with the knowledge of Buddha's Teaching?

if we try this way, we ourselves could know what exactly mean by pleasant feeling/unpleasant feeling/ neither-pleasant-nor-unpleasant feeling

once we really grasp the feeling it is our own understanding
    not just someone's saying or something we read or something we think