Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Eager to tease others? how annoying.

still_learningstill_learning Veteran
edited June 2012 in General Banter
I've always found it interesting to observe and analyze the behavior of the people around me (and my behavior as well).

Recently, I've been meeting people who appear to be eager to tease others. As the title says, I find it annoying. I'm not an expert at reading people, it just appears to me like a pre-emptive strike against others to keeps others from seeing their insecurities. It's like putting someone else down to feel better about yourself, but at a milder level.

It usually doesn't bother me, as I'll just brush it off, but I've been seeing it happen a lot recently.

I can understand that people do that just for fun and in a friendly manner, but when someone employs it on a consistent basis, it bothers me.

In one case, this guy who appears to "cool" always has a funny joke. But after a while I realized that all of his jokes are at someone else's expense, and he is eager to tease everyone. After having been at more social events with him, I've noticed that his sports/athletic skills are subpar even though he looks athletic, and his financial situation isn't so great even though he always wears nice clothes.

I guess some people need to put up these shields to survive emotionally. I bet his personal issues weigh heavy on him.