Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

question about impermanence

edited June 2006 in Buddhism Basics
Hello.

I am new to Buddhism and this site. I am actively studying the Dhamma. There are so many things I have questions about, and I suppose this is good since we are told to question the teachings and see if they work in our own lives, instead of taking it all on faith :)

I am going through some Buddhist teachings and trying to understand them clearly. I'm taking it slowly to make sure I get a vivid understanding of ideas. I have come across several things in reading that I do not agree with, but the way I see it, I don't have to agree with everything in Buddhism in order to take some of it and profit the world from these teachings.

This brings me to the teaching of annica. Impermanence. All psychological, physical and physiological phenomena are said to be changing. I can not agree with this, but I want to be able to agree with it, so someone please tell me where I may be getting confused.

I will use "character" to support my logic. When someone is called in court to be a character witness, this is based on the logic that people generally have a set attitude, personality or character- a predictable pattern of behavior- that classifies how a person will respond. I have known people who, over the course of 25 years, never changed in their qualities, attitudes, and the actions that spring forth from these attributes. So it is no surprise that courts call for character witnesses when trying to discern the truth in a case.