Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Practicing buddhism in the army...

edited August 2012 in Buddhism Basics
I'm actually a soldier in a compulsory army that my country forces me to participate in. I'm not comfortable with the idea of "fire" against "fire", but you could argue that the fact that an army exists is deterrent for evil forces... and that promotes peace and harmony for the people in the country so that more can practice the Dhamma.

So recently, I've settled into a unit and have underwent a gruelling basic military training. (really gruelling!)

As soldiers, we're expected to follow orders, and not to question our commanders.

It's either a "YES", or a "NO".

So what happens, is that I have an extremely unreasonable commander that is directly above me. He has told me, that he hates me. He graduated at a primary school level, and he can't seem to think "reasonably".

In many incidents, he would accuse me of doing a task badly by deliberately twisting the sentences in his orders. And when there is such "failure to comply with orders", as soldiers, we get punished. I get sent for guard duty and the detention barracks. I get punished with push-ups and all of that.

I used to think that, hey, it might be the differences in our languages. He understands and speaks English in a manner that someone like me who is "indoctrinated with precise English grammar" is unable to understand.

But then, he strikes again in a different manner. He does it over and over again...